Federation Bells are a set of 39 bronze bells located in Birrarung Marr in central Melbourne


Modified Schedule during 2017 Australian Open

14-22 January, 2017

For the 2017 Australian Open there will be the AO Festival located at Birrarung Marr.

During this period there will only be the morning 8-9am bell schedule.

There will also be limited access to the Federation Bells, as the area will only be accessible with an Australian Open ticket.

Normal scheduling and interactive sessions will start again on Monday 23 January.

Bart Willoughby single launch - Woodskin Funk

Monday 19 Dec, 5.30 – 6.00pm, free

Pioneering indigenous performer Bart Willoughby is celebrating the release of the first single Woodskin Funk off his forthcoming album Resonance due for release early 2017 with a performance incorporating the Federation Bells.

A labour of love, the album is a progression from Bart’s earlier album We Still Live On. A combination of atmospheric recordings from the Kimberly’s Bungle Bungle Ranges and the Melbourne Town Hall grand organ. On this occasion Willoughby plays with the Federation Bells, melding the resonating sounds captured within the vastness of nature with the grandeur of the City of Melbourne’s grand organ.

Personally it was a chance for Willoughby to connect his father song-lines to the Gija people through stories told and collaboration with elder song man Uncle Gabe on two tracks.

For the single launch at the Federation Bells, Willoughby will be jamming on his woodskin along with the Bells accompanied by:

  • Phil Bywater on Sax
  • Anita Hustas on Double Bass
  • Soprano Shauntai Batzki.

The atmosphere of the Bungle Bungle ranges are placed at Birrurung Marr in urban Melbourne through soundscapes recorded by Nick Harrison and visual imagery by artist Frances Loriente.

Supported by the City of Melbourne Arts Grants Program.
Photo by Cole Bennetts

Jingle Bells in Birrarung Marr

25th November – 25th December

Hear the Federation Bells chime their way through your favourite Christmas carols this festive season down in Birrarung Marr.

The majestic bells form part of the City of Melbourne’s Christmas celebrations with a collection of well-known Christmas songs scheduled to ring out throughout December.

Stay tuned to hear ‘Away in a Manger’, ‘Good King Wenceslas’ and everyone’s favourite ‘Jingle Bells’.

View the full schedule for a complete list of songs and times.

For a complete list of what’s happening in Melbourne over the festive season visit the  City of Melbourne’s website.

More News >